30.1 C
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Thailand further relaxes COVID-19 measures from 21 June 2021

The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) would like to provide the following updates regarding the Royal Thai Government’s announcement on the further relaxation of COVID-19 restrictions ahead of the country’s preparations to reopen to international tourism next month.

Effective from 21 June, 2021, the announcement was made official in the Royal Thai Government Gazette on 19 June, 2021, citing the progress of the national COVID-19 vaccination programme and the collaborative efforts of everyone in the country to contain and prevent the spread of the virus.

Reopening pilot destinations

The announcement instructed the related officials and authorities to accelerate preparations for the reopening of the pilot destinations to international tourism in line with the government’s policy and the country’s public health measures. TAT will provide details on this in the upcoming updates as soon as further information becomes available.

Face masks

The mask mandate requiring everyone in Thailand to ‘always correctly and properly wear sanitary or fabric face masks outside their residence or accommodation’ remains compulsory in public places nationwide. TAT would like to remind everyone that face masks should be worn at all times for both your personal safety and for those around you.

Dine-in at restaurants / food and beverage outlets

Dark-red zone: Dine-in services are allowed until 23.00 Hrs., but air-conditioned venues must limit capacity to 50% of the regular operations. Red zone: Dine-in services can extend until 23.00 Hrs. Orange zone: Dine-in services can resume normal hours. Consumption of alcoholic beverages while dining in continues to be prohibited in the dark-red, red, and orange zones. Yellow zone: Dine-in services can resume normal hours and operations.

Closure of entertainment venues

Pubs, bars, karaoke bars, and massage parlours nationwide are to remain closed.

Shopping malls

Shopping malls, department stores, and community malls in the dark-red and red zones are allowed to open only until 21.00 Hrs. and are not allowed to hold any sales promotion activities. Those in the remaining zones are allowed to resume normal hours.

Gatherings & activities

Gatherings and activities with no more than 50 people are allowed in the dark-red zone; no more than 100 people in the red zone; no more than 150 people in the orange zone, and no more than 200 people in the yellow zone.

Sports venues

In the dark-red zone, sports venues are to remain closed, except for outdoor sports venues, which are allowed to reopen until 21.00 Hrs. and are permitted to hold sporting events without any audiences.

In the red zone, all types of sports venues are allowed to reopen until 21.00 Hrs. and are permitted to hold sporting events without any audiences.

In the orange and yellow zones, all types of sports venues are allowed to resume normal hours and are permitted to hold sporting events without any audiences.

Work from home

Public and private sector organisations are encouraged to extend the work from home options.

New COVID-19 monitoring zone structure

The government has announced five new zones, which determine different levels of disease control measures, depending on the COVID-19 situation in the respective provinces.

The Maximum and Strict Controlled Area or ‘dark-red zone’ continues to comprise four provinces: Bangkok and three other provinces – Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani and Samut Prakan.

From previously 17 provinces, the Maximum Controlled Area or ‘red zone’ now comprises 11 provinces: (region-by-region) CENTRAL REGION: Nakhon Pathom, Phetchaburi, and Samut Sakhon, Saraburi; EASTERN REGION: Chachoengsao and Chon Buri; and SOUTHERN REGION: Narathiwat, Pattani, Songkhla, Trang, and Yala.

From previously 56 provinces, the Controlled Area or ‘orange zone’ now comprises 9 provinces: (region-by-region) CENTRAL REGION: Ayutthaya, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Ratchaburi, and Samut Songkhram; EASTERN REGION: Chanthaburi, Rayong, and Sa Kaeo, and SOUTHERN REGION: Nakhon Si Thammarat and Ranong.

In the newly-added zone, the High Surveillance Area or ‘yellow zone’ comprises 53 provinces: (region-by-region) CENTRAL REGION: Ang Thong, Chai Nat, Kanchanaburi, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Sing Buri, and Suphan Buri; EASTERN REGION: Prachin Buri and Trat; NORTHERN REGION: Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phetchabun, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Phrae, Sukhothai, Tak, Uthai Thani, and Uttaradit; NORTHEASTERN REGION: Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Buri Ram, Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Loei, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Nong Khai, Roi Et, Sakon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin, Ubon Ratchathani, Udon Thani, and Yasothon, and SOUTHERN REGION: Chumphon, Krabi, Phang Nga, Phatthalung, Phuket, Satun, and Surat Thani.

The government has yet to assign any province in another newly added zone, the Surveillance Area or ‘green zone’.

Once again, TAT would like to remind all travellers to take DMHTTA precautions to prevent the spread of COVID-19: D – Distancing, M – Mask wearing, H – Handwashing, T – Temperature check, T – Testing for COVID-19, and A – alert application.

For regular updates on the tourism-related COVID-19 situation in Thailand, visit the TAT Newsroom via www.tatnews.org; Facebook (tatnews.org); and Twitter (Tatnews_Org).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.