28.1 C
Sunday, February 25, 2024

1Day Sooner Launches National Vaccine Day Campaign

A group of renowned experts in virology, public health, and bioethics have joined forces in support of National Vaccine Day— a one-time federal holiday to promote vaccine educaton and honor healthcare workers.

In a new op-ed for STAT NewsDr. Stanley Plotkin (creator of the rubella vaccine), Dr. Norman Baylor (Former Director of the Office of Vaccine Research and Review at the FDA), and Keona Wyne (PhD student at the Harvard School of Public Health) make the case for National Vaccine Day

National Vaccine Day would take place once the US reaches collective immunity— likely in the late summer or fall of 2021, depending on vaccine rollout— and would include public gatherings, festivities, and performances that offer support for hard-hit industries and encourage Americans to get vaccinated so they an safely participate. The holiday would also function as a benchmark for states to complete widespread vaccination campaigns. Steering Committee for the National Vaccine Day Campaign members include:

  1. Luciana Borio, Former Director for Medical and Biodefense Preparedness at the National Security Council and Vice President In-Q-Tel
  2. Dr. Richard Carmona, 17th Surgeon General of the United States
  3. Arthur Caplan, Professor of Bioethics, Department of Population Studies, NYU Langone Health
  4. Ian Haydon, Science Communications Manager, Institute for Protein Design, University of Washington
  5. Jerome Kim, Director General, International Vaccine Institute
  6. Damon Linfelof, Television Creator, LostThe Leftovers, and Watchmen
  7. Josh Morrison, Co-Founder and Executive Director, 1Day Sooner
  8. Seema Shah, Associate Professor, Founder’s Board Professor of Medical Ethics, Department of Pediatrics, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
  9. Mike Schur, Television Creator, Parks and RecreationThe Good Place, and Brooklyn 99
  10. Angela Rasmussen, Affiliate, Georgetown Center for Global Health Science & Security
  11. Nadine Rouphael, Associate Professor of Medicine and Acting Director, Hope Clinic, Emory Vaccine Center
  12. Yolonda Wilson, Associate Professor, Health Care Ethics, Saint Louis University

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.