38.1 C
Monday, April 15, 2024

THAI Congratulates Prince Mahidol Award 2018 Recipients

Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn, as the representative of His Majesty the King, presided over the presentation ceremony of the Prince Mahidol Award 2018 at the Chakri Throne Hall, The Grand Palace.

Thai Airways International Public Company Limited (THAI) has been providing on-going support for this prestigious award, flying members of the award selection committee and award recipients to the Kingdom of Thailand.

In the Field of Medicine, the 2018 Prince Mahidol Award was presented to Professor Brian J.

Druker (3rd from right), Professor of International Medicine and Director of Knight Cancer Institute at Oregon Health & Science University and Professor Dr. Mary-Claire King (3rd from left), Professor of Medicine Genetics, Department of Medicine, School of Medicine, University of Washington.

In the field of Public Health, the awards were presented to Professor John D. Clemens (4th from right), Executive Director, International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh (icddr,b) Bangladesh, and Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology, University of California Los Angeles and Professor Dr. Jan R. Holmgren (4th from left), Professor of Medicine Microbiology and Immunology, Director of the Gothenburg University Vaccine Research Institute (GUVAX), the Kingdom of Sweden.

Also present at the ceremony to congratulate the awardees were Mr. Ekniti Nitithanprapas (2nd from left), THAI Chairman of the Board of Directors, Dr. Supat Vanichakarn (2nd from right), Secretary-General of the Prince Mahidol Award Foundation, and Mr. Wiwat Piyawiroj (1st from right), THAI Executive Vice President, Commercial.

The Prince Mahidol Award Foundation, of which Her Royal Highness Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn is the President, was established in commemoration of the Centenary of the Birth of His Royal Highness Prince Mahidol of Songkla on 1 January 1992. The Foundation is under the Royal Patronage. Two Prince Mahidol Awards are conferred annually to individuals or institutions that have demonstrated outstanding and exemplary contributions to the advancement of medical and public health services for humanity throughout the world.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.